MY STORY OF BECOMING A MUM FOR THE THIRD TIME

Three times a mummy

What if it’s a boy?

on January 29, 2013

I never used to think 3 children made a big family, but I read somewhere that in 2009 the average number of children in a UK family was 1.7, and I can’t imagine that that number has increased since then. So I guess that having a third baby will make us a slightly bigger than average family.

People seem quite shocked that I am 29 years old and I am pregnant for the third time in 4 years (not people at church, for them it’s quite normal), and a lot of people presume I must be desperate for a baby girl. I am not. I just want another baby, and if I was so against boys I wouldn’t risk bringing a 3rd one into our lives. I am honestly happy to have whatever sex baby we are blessed with.

My Preschooler on the other hand is convinced we are having girl, called Olivia. He has already decided the things Olivia will and won’t like and do. She won’t splash in the bath. She will have black hair and green eyes, like mummy. At first I thought this was cute, not I am getting quite worried, what if it’s boy? What if we have an Oliver instead of an Olivia?

In 3 hours we have our 20 week scan. I don’t think I want to find out the sex of the baby, but I wondering if it’s wise to find out in order to be able persuade Jack that being blessed with a Baby Boy is just as good as being blessed with Baby Girl.

Leave a Reply

