MY STORY OF BECOMING A MUM FOR THE THIRD TIME

Three times a mummy

“I am just so tired”

on February 11, 2013

Ok, hands up if you as mother, or if you have ever heard a mother say any of the following…

“I am so tired I could sleep for a week”

“All I want is a few hours solid sleep”

“I am so tired I could fall asleep standing up”

I am sure we have all said it or heard it.

My most used line lately has been “I am just so tired”.

I look at Jack and he wakes up about 6:30 and goes to bed about 7. He has an abundance of energy all day, everyday. The boy doesn’t stop. Ever. I am so desperate to know how he does it. What is the secret power my 3 year old has and how can I make him part with just a little and give some to me?

I have been desperately seeking something to help me get through the day without yawning every 5 minutes.

I was just in the bath thinking (the bath and the shower are my thinking places). And I thought “what is so bad about being tired?” Other than the obvious feeling rubbish part of it, I think as mothers we tend to feel like feeling tired is a failure on our part. If we stay at home with our children we feel like we shouldn’t be tired because we have been at home all day, if we go to work we feel like we shouldn’t be tired, we haven’t had to look after the children all day (or at least that’s how I feel about work), but whatever our circumstances, motherhood is hard work. Fact (please don’t ask me to reference that fact). We are trying to juggle so many balls we are going to get tired, plus, we have spent a lot of years pre-children enjoying sleep. It’s not a habit any of us what to give up easily.

I have decided today that I am going to wear my tiredness as a medal – in the form of bags under my eyes (and not just because I am struggling to find a decent concealer).

The tiredness I display is a result of carrying a baby, looking after a toddler and a preschooler 4 days a week, and working as a buyers assistant 3 days a week. I am an employee, a wife, a Sunday School teacher and most of all a mother. All roles require me to give 100% and I mostly work my roles along side each other.

I am tired because I care. I care about my role of mother enough to be awake during the night attending to my boys needs. Enough to not just send Jack downstairs to watch TV whilst I stay in bed asleep (not that I think he would ever let me do that) and leave Charlie to cry because I can’t be bothered getting out of bed.

So mums, display your bags with pride. Yes, we feel so tired we could cry, and I am afraid we will for a few more years yet. But tiredness isn’t a sign that we we are struggling to manage our work load. It’s a sign that we are trying our best and giving it our all. And if someone wants to give you some of their time to help you sleep, accept it. If you don’t, send them my way and I will accept it.

Sleep time for me now xxx

20130212-082408.jpg

2 responses to ““I am just so tired”

  1. 1tric says:

    Can still remember that tiredness. 3rd was a nightmare, but 4th was a joy! bet your so ready to think of that at this time!!!!

Leave a Reply

