MY STORY OF BECOMING A MUM FOR THE THIRD TIME

Three times a mummy

The midnight smile

on October 23, 2013

Dear baby,

It’s 2am and wake for a feed

It’s 3:30am, you and I are finally settled, almost back asleep and you decide to fill your nappy

Thanks

I decide just to change it on the bed, willing nothing to leaking out of it. Thanks for cooperating on that matter

My eyes are so heavy. It’s so quiet and dark

I glance over to your dad, peacefully asleep, and probably completely oblivious to the fact that we have been awake

I am jealous of him, and wonder if he really appreciates how hard a breastfeeding mum works. Completely on call 24/7

I know he does appreciate it. I am extremely tired and get far too grumpy in this state. I am so desperate for sleep

As I fasten your clean nappy, you smile

A smile that melts my heart. I hold you close and kiss your check, rewarded with another smile. I stroke your check, and talk to me “agu” and smile

I suddenly go from feeling desperate to be asleep to loving the moment

Loving the quietness of the house and the fact that for this time it’s just the two of us, loving each other

No amount of sleep would be a worthy exchange for this moment

Love Mummy x

Leave a Reply

